The Dish Race

It's time for this year's DISH RACE!

The Dish Race is a unique 3.25 mile fun run through the iconic Dish trail at Stanford, sponsored by the Stanford Running Club in partnership with Stanford Recreation and Wellness. Whether you're a competitive runner or just want a fun workout, mark your calendars today and participate in a Stanford tradition! All are welcome. The Sixth Annual Dish Race will take place on:

Sunday, February 26th, 2017
at 9:00 AM (competitive race) and 11:00 AM (fun run/walk)
starting at the Gerona Gate / Campus Drive entrance.

Check out the Facebook event for this year's race.
And remember, don't get dish-slapped!


Do you think you can take what it dishes out? Be a part of a Stanford tradition.

This year the event will be slightly different compared to previous years. We will have two races, a competitive race starting at 9am and a noncompetitive fun run/walk starting at 11am. This will allow for more participants and separate those looking for a competitive run and those seeking a more relaxed jog and/or walk event.

Register for the COMPETITIVE RACE
or the FUN RUN/WALK!

Registration Fees:
$20 for Stanford-affiliated runners/walkers
$30 for non-Stanford-affiliated runners/walkers

Online registration closes at noon on Saturday, Feb 25th. All race entrants who enter before February 12th will receive a free 2017 Dish Race shirt.

There will be a cap of 250 entrants per race (competitive and non-competitive) and on-the-day entries will be available assuming this cap has not been reached. See you there!


The race will be electronically timed and prizes will be awarded to top overall and age group finishers.

If you are running in the competitive race, please plan on being off the race course by 10am in order to allow for the running of the fun run/walk. If you think you will require more time, we suggest entering in the fun run/walk.

For the competitive race, bib pickup will be available between 8:15 and 8:45am. For the fun run/walk, bib pickup will be available between 10:15 and 10:45am.

Parking is available in residential lots off Campus Drive (marked on race day). Race start/finish will be at the Campus Drive & Junipero Serra gate near Lake Lagunita.

Contact for more information.


The Dish Race route runs clockwise on the Dish, starting at the entrance nearest to Campus Drive. It totals to be 3.25 miles.


When Leland Stanford Sr. arrived in California in the mid-19th century, his first observation of the beautiful, sweeping landscape was a statement to his wife.

"Jane," Leland Sr. said, "I really am of the opinion that that hill you see over yonder would make a fine racecourse."

And hence began the Annual Stanford Dish Race. Course records are below:

Men - Top 10 All Time

   Name  Age   Year   Time  
 1.  Scott Himmelberger  23  2012  17:25.327
 2.  Oeyvind Heiberg-Sundby  28  2012  17:55.863
 Matthew Millet  19     2014    18:13
 4.  Ryan Corvese  18  2013   18:14.793
 5.  Chikara Omine  30  2013   18:30.902
 6.  Andrew Ntim  18   2015   18:40
 7.  Ryan Schumacher  21   2014   18:47
 8.  Tom Parise  24  2013   18:52.631
 9.  Andrew Blaick  20   2012   18:52.993
 10.  Dan Post  24  2013  18:57.067

Women - Top 10 All Time

   Name  Age   Year   Time  
 1.  Pilar Meltz  40  2015  21:13
 2.  Lauren Pischel  29  2013  21:38.673
 3.  Natalie Badowski  27   2012   21:40.724
 4.  Alexandra Cox  20  2012   21:46.301
 5.  Judith Zuagg    34  2013   22:14.454
 6.  Isabel Bush  25  2015  22:00
 7.  Kristen Brownell  27  2013  22:24.517
 8.  Rebecca Schuamberg  44  2013  22:58.924
 9.  Marisa Messina  46  2013  23:01.078
 10  Carravita Pape-Calabrese  20  2015  23:32